Coronavirus information & resources
Treating effects of COVID-19 vax
Vaccines - What You Need To Know

Considering a drone from Autel Robotics? You'd better read this first...

DJI can rot in hell where they belong. There are major concerns regarding privacy and security with their invasive software, not to mention the over-the-top geo-fencing annoyance, though i suppose it's a necessary evil to keep in check all the idiots that ought to have stuck to Lincoln Logs instead of flying remotely operated aircraft.

With DJI out of the picture, i came very close to pulling the trigger on an Autel Evo II Pro, then i started reading about how the quality of their support has recently sunk like a lead balloon. Apparently Autel used to have great support, but something has obviously changed, including two key people who have left the company for what appears to be grievances with how the company is managed.

The following is a small sample of customer dissatisfaction with Autel's support, mostly from the Autel Pilots forums and most from 2022:

An update on phone service and the tech support/customer service department:

This appears to be from a support tech...

Due to a historically large influx of service tickets, phone calls, and email inquiries, we are experiencing delayed response times. The Customer Service/Tech Support team is a very small team, and we cover the entirety of North and South America. We are working diligently to attend to each ticket and call we have received. We appreciate your patience as we work through the backlog!

Phone service for the Customer Service/Tech Support team will be closed Thursday-Friday Feb 10-11th, and will resume as normal Monday Feb 14th.

Support requests are apparently exceeding the norm, so the answer is to close support rather than hire more people? Really? And why are there so many support requests?

Another customer in the same thread...

This is April 15th, 2022 and I have that problem with a drone I bought two weeks ago and can't get support to answer emails, phones or chats.

And another...

I tried to call them 10 times over April 13th and 14th. Each time waited in the queue and when I was 2 or 1, they asked me to leave a message and hung up after I left the message. On the evening (EDT), I got through to a very helpful gentleman. My three emails have not yet been responded to as of this morning.

And another...

This is VERY disconcerting. Buying a warranty is a waste of money if no one is going to be available to help. I bought my warranty before I flew my drone for the first time had some questions, called, emailed and was able to get a person in the chat window, he told me “let me get someone to help you with that, 30 minutes later I had to go back to work without no one coming to the chat. Is very sad. I bought the light to try Autel before the Evo 3 came out and this situation is directing me to never buy an Autel drone ever again. They will have to show a lot of progress before I can trust them again.

And another...

Anyone else getting any response from autel support? I submitted an email ticket two weeks ago and besides the automated response I've heard nothing. I've called and left voice mail as well but no response.

Is it time to switch to DJI because of a lack of support? | Autel Drone Forum

The last few times I needed tech support it literally took weeks and several emails to get a reply.

I can't even replace my drone or get an answer from tech support and I'm growing impatient. With each passing day, I'm having second thoughts about investing this much money in a drone if the company can't support it.

Another customer...

They aren't responding. I emailed them three weeks ago and chased them up twice but didn't even get an acknowledgement.

And another...

My letter to Autel after months of complaining and no help !

Subject: Non Existent customer service, my words falling on deaf ears.

A slap in the face by Autel | Autel Drone Forum

I have just recently read this on Autel site. I own an Evo 1 and its a shame that they decided not to supply parts or service for it I fly only 8-10 times a year and it sucks that I paid $1000.00 for a drone that doesn't manufacture spare parts/ batteries. Good Bye Autel.

Major change needed at Autel | Autel Drone Forum

With an inability to provide any reasonable connection or response to customers, Autel is more detrimental to their growth and success, than any effort mounted by a competitor.

[...]

From unanswered phone calls and unanswered messages to unanswered or unrealistically delayed email responses. This is the unfortunate mode of operation for Autel.

Just read on Autels Facebook group that Ken Booth is leaving Autel | Autel Drone Forum

One of the problems that may be related to the horrible support lately was the leaving of one of their most liked support techs, Ken Booth. One customer wrote...

"Just wanted to let you all know that my last day with Autel Robotics is Sunday. I feel that under the current conditions at the company that I can no longer provide the support that I'm known for. I wish the user base the best."

Another user comments...

Yep! I read this sad news as well ! I’m sure wherever he goes, he’ll got more appreciation because he is the top 10 in customer services. Autel will regret to lose him.

And another...

Guessing he ran into the same brick wall CEO Randall Warnas ran into trying to get things done. Unfortunately Maxwell Lee has always wanted his son to run the company and it was said years ago the only reason Maxwell Lee (Autel) started into drones was to give his son a company to run.
Looks like he is running it into the ground.

And another...

I don't know what the managerial dynamics are in Autel but it's obvious things are not good. Maybe the younger Lee is finding out what Randall also learned after joining the company. Working with the owner is just not possible.

And another...

Sadly with Ken’s departure, things won’t get better. He was the strongest thread between Autel and the consumer. He pushed for a substantial improvement of their customer service platform and was essentially met with an “We don’t care” response from executive levels. One can rarely get through by phone and rarely receive responses to email inquiries currently. Autel needs to drastically change and improve their customer service and communication. At present, Autel isn’t a stellar company. They do have some great drone platforms but that not what it’s all about. If Autel cannot service their vendors or customers efficiently and effectively, they literally are no better than their competitor. Currently Autel executives are their own worst enemy due to inexperienced and unprofessional business tactics.

Randall Warnas quits Autel | Autel Drone Forum

So much promise and Randall confirmed Autel is just another Chinese monopoly with no desire to look out for their employees and one would reason, their customers.

Autel, should learn from B & H how to give customer service

No response from Autel so far. I tried calling and was on hold 25 minutes and suddenly they shut the phone by saying We will try calling you back I did not choose that option !

Feb 16th I kept checking if they had replied to my Email, no I kept trying to reach them on phone and finally got through.

She said there is no way she can help me fix the problem over the phone, I will have to ship both back and since its a user problem they will not cover the shipping even tho its under warranty ! They seem to know the problem and when I asked why have the Standard and Smart Firmware in the same line next to one another, I got no answer back.

[...]

February 23rd and still waiting for a reply from Autel. Both Autel EVO2 Pro not working due to firmware issues.

It seems Autel is waiting for my warranty to expire on both drones so they can throw the Hot Potato at me !

Shame on you Autel.

Has anyone had problems getting Autel Robotics support to reply to their request for help? | Autel Drone Forum

Two weeks ago, I emailed Autel Robotics tech support about my water damaged EVO II. I got the automated reply that said a support representative would be contacting me soon. I didn't hear anything so after about 4 days I sent another email. Still nothing. After 10 days, I sent yet another email, still nothing. Now it's been two weeks and I have sent them a fourth email and I'm not hold my breath waiting for a reply. Is this normal? It's frustrating as hell.

This has not been my experience in the past.

VPN Provider Review: AzireVPN

AzireVPN, operated by Netbouncer in Sweden, was recommended to me by one of those geeky, super knowledgeable hacker types who detailed some really interesting differences between Azire and other VPN providers. And what are those differences you ask, mouth watering in anticipation?

Well, first let's get something straight regarding VPN providers: there isn't a damn one that can be fully trusted, at least none that i know of. They can tell you whatever they want about their security and privacy and no-log policies (many of them are flat out lying when they state this), but unless there's an information leak, or you discover a security or privacy issue yourself, or you personally know the people running the company, your confidence in their service will always be blind. Tor advocates like to use this ammo to suggest that Tor is far better in this regard because it's open source and uses multiple nodes and multiple layers of encryption, yada yada yada, but i find their claims of security to be less than concrete. For example a bad actor, such as your ISP, can apparently run an entire Tor network on a single machine using something like The Shadow Simulator and god knows what the intelligence community can do. Tor has other problems as well, some of them detailed in my article Tor versus a VPN - Which is right for you?.

Understand that i'm not suggesting that a VPN is necessarily superior to Tor in every case, but i think that what path is best chosen depends on what you're trying to achieve and i think that for the average user who's downloading ... things ... or wants to circumvent YouTube's idiotic geo-restrictions, a VPN may be the better option, though unlike Tor, VPNs are not free and any provider that claims this is a good one to run the hell away from at maximum velocity.

Back to Azire...

AzireVPN claims to do things very differently. Unlike every other (or mostly every other) VPN business where one can sit behind a keyboard and provision as many servers around the world as they please, Azire tells us they physically own, configure, secure, install and maintain each server they operate (if you search the images on their domain you can find some circumstantial evidence to support this). From a security/privacy viewpoint i see this as a huge advantage over other mega-VPNs like NordVPN, ExpressVPN, AirVPN, etc., who are potentially more open to hacking and government snooping.

Azire makes the following claims...

  • they own and maintain the hardware
  • nothing is stored physically on the servers (no hard drives) - the entire system runs in RAM (more here)
  • all USB, VGA and serial ports are sealed to prevent tampering (more here).
  • they support WireGuard which is apparently faster, better, easier and less bloated than the OpenVPN protocol
  • no logging
  • no port restrictions (torrenting, etc., is allowed)

AzireVPN was featured in TorrentFreak's article, Which VPN Providers Really Take Privacy Seriously in 2021?.

Sounds like the berries, right? There is one downside to managing your own hardware though in that they can't provision equipment as quickly as the fast-food VPNs and so Azire doesn't have a heck of a lot of servers, but the ones they do have are located in quite a few countries and they seem to be slowly expanding (see their blog for more). Azire does offer SOCKS5 proxies, however you must be connected to one of their VPN servers to use them and there is no encryption at the proxy level. Still, their SOCKS5 servers make it easy to change your location/IP in order to circumvent geo-restrictions. For those like myself who run their VPN client on their router this is a plus because, while it isn't as straight forward to swap locations, there are plenty off web browser extensions available that provide the ability to quickly switch between SOCKS proxies.

I started with AirVPN several years ago then moved to NordVPN, but being with a huge company like Nord, who seems to be less than transparent, has always bothered me and i'm glad to have found an alternative which i think is better all around. Although it wasn't an issue when i first signed up, Nord's servers have become blacklisted by quite a few sites and it started to get annoying, as did the lack of the connection stability.

Getting AzireVPN set up on my router was a bit of a pain in the ass. At first i was using the DD-WRT firmware and even after contacting Azire support i could not get OpenVPN or WireGuard working. Truth be told, their setup guides are out of date and, although they say they support OpenVPN, i'm not convinced they do, at least for some configurations which they claim to support. Azire seems to be moving away from OpenVPN in favor of WireGuard, but this is all pretty new stuff and so there can be hitches in setting up WireGuard as well. I finally got the tunnel working with WireGuard after switching to the OpenWRT firmware and a lot of fiddling around plus still more help from Azire support. Azire definitely loses points here though their support has been mostly OK (i'll get more into that in a bit). If you decide to use their app however, you can likely avoid the hassle i had and they have a healthy selection of apps for different platforms/devices.

Another big plus with AzireVPN is that you don't have to give them any personal information to open an account and you can pay with cryptocurrency, so acquiring their service can be totally anonymous if you want, especially if you use another VPN or Tor to sign up. There aren't a lot of other VPN providers that go this far to protect your privacy.

As far as the tunnel itself, all ports are open and bandwidth is unlimited. I've only been using their service a short time, but speed seems really good in tests, though this may have a lot to do with the WireGuard protocol since it has less overhead. Also i haven't yet had much trouble accessing sites which had blocked Nord's IPs. The stability of my connection has been very impressive whereas this was not the case at all with Nord.

Now, back to that support thing...

Because i couldn't get DD-WRT working with the OpenVPN protocol, a configuration which Azire claims to support, i was offered some free time without having to ask for it. I appreciated the offer and viewed it as the right thing to do, especially for a smaller company which is apparently interested in growing. Problem is, they didn't follow through and so i inquired again about their offer. Crickets. In the end i inquired four times before i got a response, and their response was to renege on the offer because i didn't help them figure out how to get DD-WRT/OpenVPN working on their tunnels, a condition which was absolutely never stated nor implied. Here's what they said, emphasis added:

We thought that our offer was pretty clear while saying the following statement:

"Whether you manage to find a solution to your issue, we will be glad to give you free time and eventually we will make a quick update to our guide."

In other words, if you were able to find a solution which we could integrate into our guide to update it, we would give you free time. I think our sentence was poorly written, but that is what we meant.

Their offer was unconditional. It did not hinge upon anything. Needless to say, their blatant twisting of their own words pissed me off and so i fired back a rather terse reply calling them out on it. Shortly after receiving my mail they did extend my service time for a month, so in the end they did what was proper and ethical, but what they should have done was not ignore three mails regarding the issue.

All in all i think AzireVPN offers some uniquely attractive and important features and they manage to do it at a very competitive price. If you decide to go with Azire please consider using my referral link which helps me out a bit.

UPDATE, 18-Apr-2022

I introduced AzireVPN in a Github repository, Lissy93 / personal-security-checklist, in issue #140, [CONTENT-CHANGE] Privacy-Respecting Software > Virtual Private Networks, and 'Lissy93' brought up several concerns, some of which i shared, and so i emailed Azire. Following is their reply to these concerns which i'm personally fairly pleased with:

Q: Client applications not open source. And their only GH repo is very stale
A: It is true that the source code of our current WireGuard applications is not released yet. It will be when we feel confident that the code is ready and mature enough so that everyone will be able to review, submit issues, and contribute with merge requests.

Our GitHub currently hosts the source code of our old OpenVPN client, which is now deprecated and not maintained anymore.

Q: Android App only available through Google Play, no F-Droid or APK
A: We are planning to, at a minimum, release our Android application on F-Droid, probably at the same time we release the source code.

Q: Unsure why the Android app needs external storage read/write permissions
A: The Android application needs external storage read/write permission to be able to write debug logs, which are available from the hamburger menu. Users can then send us the log for support inquiries.

Q: No kill switch option on client apps, and Linux app disconnected several times
A: It is planned to integrate a kill-switch in our clients on all platforms where it makes sense and can be properly implemented.

The Linux client is deprecated. Linux users can use WireGuard's wg-quick directly, or better, use systemd services, for now. They also can use NetworkManager's OpenVPN GUI applet to ease the establishment of an OpenVPN tunnel.

Q: Their only DNS servers are in Denmark, part of the 9-Eyes
A: Our static public DNS servers are located in Sweden. When connecting to our service, users will be assigned with the endpoint's local DNS servers, which should keep the DNS requests internal to the location's local network. It is therefore possible to avoid country deemed untrusted.

Our static public DNS servers are listed on this page, under the "DNS servers" section:

https://www.azirevpn.com/docs/servers

Q: No security audit. And no evidence to backup any of their claims
A: We are planning to make an audit of our back-end infrastructure when we feel ready to do so. For the moment, the back-end is reworked for the release of port forwarding, which should happen in the incoming months.

Q: My traffic was flowing through shared data centers, they cannot / do not physically maintain these themselves, like they made it sound like
A: We buy all our hardware (servers and switchs), seal it, and then send it to data centers around the world. It would not be feasible to own our data centers, although we have close business links with some of them, so we know they can be trusted.

More information on these pages:

- https://www.azirevpn.com/docs/environment
- https://www.azirevpn.com/docs/security

Q: Relatively few locations, and expansion seems to have slowed down
A: See answer number 7. It is less easy to find trusted and quality data centers to send our hardware to, than simply leasing a server which can be terminated at any time.

During 2022, we are striving to expand our locations on the West Coast of the United States.

Q: Surprisingly small throughput compared to other providers, possibly making identifying individuals easier
A: We are not sure if "small throughput" refers to "low traffic" on some locations from our Status page, or if the speed when testing was not great. It usually depends on a lot of factors, but our locations are, for some of them, using Tier 1 providers directly (Cogent, Telia) so the speed should be there. Also, our servers are for the most part using 10 Gbit/s full duplex links.

Q: When trying it out, I found performance was quite poor, and not all their advertised servers were connectable. But this could be due to my location
A: Unless indicated otherwise on our Status page, all our locations are available for use. We have automatic ways to detect down locations on our side, so there should be no issue connecting to them unless an Internet Service Provider banned some of our locations' IP addresses.

We are open to answer other questions or clarify some points if our answers were not complete enough. Alicia can contact us directly to our support email address.

Quick and dirty product review: HIFIMAN Sundara Planar Magnetic Headphones

I'm not an audiophile so i can't offer you a detailed description of the sound the HIFIMAN Sundara produces. Besides, there's more than enough reviews of these cans on the interwebs anyway, such as this excellent review by the respected Joshua Valour...

And a follow-up review, again by Joshua...

As i said, i'm not an audiophile, but i have taken a small step in that direction with the purchase of an external AMP/DAC combo and the $350 USD Sundara. Except for the Sundara, the only half decent cans i have is the open-back QPAD QH-85 headset which caters to gamers (it's got a mic) and so they are the only ones i can compare the Sundara to ... and what i have to say isn't entirely pretty.

The Sundara sounds great. It's an open-back, planar magnetic type with very thin and responsive diaphragms that produce a well-rounded sound without over or under-doing any aspect of it. The bass, mids and highs are all well defined in my opinion. The build quality seems really good; contrary to what Joshua said, they don't feel cheap in any way to me. However, compared to my $94 QPAD's, that's about where the pluses end.

My QPAD QH-85 is significantly lighter and more comfortable than the Sundara. While they also have a somewhat thin and short cable, at least it acts like a 'normal' cable that obeys gravity whereas the Sundara cable is like a god damned slinky! It may well be a better cable as far as the internals, but the sheathing, which feels like silicone, is like a coiled rattlesnake poised to bite me somewhere where i'd rather not be bitten. I tried running it through my hands while exerting some pressure on it to heat it slightly and get it to straighten out, but that didn't help a whole lot. Hopefully it will straighten itself out in time, else i may purchase a different cable.

I thought the Sundara frame design, with a suspended headband that molds to your head, would be more comfortable than the QPAD design, however it's really not, largely due to the extra heft of the unit. The clamp pressure is also a too high for my taste, but perhaps this will feel better once the ear pads break-in. Problem is, i couldn't wait for that to happen. The Sundara ear pads are kind of shallow which is nice because it positions the drivers close to the ears, but they are so close that, with the added clamp pressure, the top of my ears were getting a bit sore from contact with the material just inside the ear cups. I wanted to stretch out the frame a bit to reduce the clamp pressure, but the head band makes that difficult because it prevents flexing the frame far enough to open it up. It is doable however and the phones do feel somewhat better after i figured out how to do it (hold the unit in both hands near the drivers and open the headband as far as it will go, then with your index and middle fingers, press down on the top of the frame).

Another niggle i have with the Sundara is that the hinge for the driver housings isn't loose enough which causes the ear pads to not conform to the sides of your bean as well as they could. I put a tiny bit of lubricant on the hinge points but it didn't really help. Again, this is something that may heal itself in time.

So while i'm very happy with the sound, i expected more in the comfort department for my $350 clams. And a better cable too, though the length of it is perfect for me.

In the end, the question is whether the extra $256 bucks on top of the QPAD's equates to a $256 dollar better experience and, from my perspective, the answer is no, it don't, but such is the case in the audiophile world where one can spend thousands on a set of cans to get an incrementally better sound. That said, i'm not sorry i bought them and i'm sure they will feel more comfortable once the pads break-in.

Product Review: Schiit Hel 2 External Headphone AMP/DAC

Dealing with Schiit Audio was not a pleasant experience. Perhaps some of my frustration can be chalked up to the alleged COVID-19 "plandemic" (yes, the spelling is intentional), but i'm not sure that accounts for all the trouble.

Second of all, i'm not very technically knowledgeable regarding digital audio, but i do have a basic understanding and i just wanted to share a potentially unique and early review of the Schiit Hel 2, "early" meaning i've only had the unit in my hands for a week or so.

The Hel 2 Gaming AMP/DAC is primarily aimed at headphone and headset users who also want to run their microphone through the unit, thus it suits gamers well. The $199 USD Hel is an upgrade to the $109 Fulla 4 (up from $99) for those who require more power and options. I no longer do much gaming, nor is that why i bought it. My reasons for wanting the Hel were because the Fulla 4 i was sent was DOA and i wanted to see if could gain a better listening experience verses my on-board sound system. Also i needed to clean up the noise floor on my cheap microphone.

While the Hel looks and feels great on the outside with its weighty steel and aluminum exterior and smooth, precise knobs and switches, there seems to be serious shortcomings with the internals. While most of the reviews i've read and watched were enthusiastically positive, others were quite critical. While i was writing this review and listening to music, my Hel started producing the same 'popping' every few seconds that quite a few other customers have mentioned. For example there are several people on Reddit that very recently have had problems similar to what i experienced, both with Schiit and its products. Here's a couple partial quotes from the beginning of the thread...

'HuskySlim' opened the thread with...

All i’ve seen so far are a lot of people with a lot of issues on their new Fulla 4 / Hel 2 units. Is this something that Schiit is aware of and actively correcting with the outgoing units? Seems like a lot of units are effected.

'b34tn1k' replied with...

I got my Hel 2 yesterday and it's cut out a bunch of times. I've emailed their support detailing the steps I've taken to trouble shoot and their reply was to ask if if I'd taken any of the steps that I already detailed.... It was like they didn't read my email beyond the subject line.

Another user replied...

Audio randomly cuts out/pops for a second and I have to unplug the power cord from the hel everytime I turn on my computer or my mic wont work

The 'popping' issues people are reporting, which i would characterize as a roughly 100 millisecond skipping in sound every second or two, as though the unit were turned off and back on again, is not exclusive to the Hel. I noticed the exact same issue with an ARC MK2 which causes me to wonder if the issue is due to a Linux kernel setting or a problem with USB on Linux.

As i mentioned, the Fulla i received was DOA which is one reason i went with the Hel. There's no excuse for this. Schiit is shipping products which i believe they know are faulty. In Schiit's defense, 'HuskySlim' apparently wasn't using the required power supply and this may have been an issue with 'b34tn1k' also, i don't know. What i do know is that many other customers are complaining, and have been for years, and that i completely agree with the statement, "It was like they didn't read my email beyond the subject line". I'm certain this is what happened in my case, no less than three times when my concern regarding the quality of their 1/4" to 1/8" headphone adapter, which others also complained about, went unanswered.

Another Reddit thread, this one from 2 years old, reveals more complaints. Here 'deepskypics' opens the thread with...

Why the hate for Schiit these days?

'verifitting' replied with...

Schiit got called out for their quality control, safety concerns, poor objective performance, and engineering pitfalls by an experienced audio engineer with an impressive résumé. Rather than own up to it, provide their own measurements, or their own review units, they attacked his character and credentials, along with many others from SBAF and Head-Fi. He then, in turn, reviewed all of their gear and pointed out all of the flaws, albeit using pretty biased language in his reviews.

It was a big controversy on headphone/audio forums (here, ASR, Head-Fi, SBAF), with many people taking sides. When it was all set and done, Schiit ended up buying their own audio analyzer and started measuring their equipment, so the desired end-result was met (i.e., audio manufacturers being more transparent in their objective performance/engineering).

Had i found these comments earlier i would not have bought from Schiit. If you're considering purchasing a product from them, i'd highly recommend finding plenty of the most recent reviews before you decide to pull the trigger.

Another problem i had with the Hel was latency. Listening to music or doing voice chats was fine, however watching videos resulted in roughly a ~300 ms delay between someones lips moving and the sound hitting my ears. I don't know whether Schiit could have done anything different regarding design since this seems to be an OS issue. In my case i run a Linux box (Manjaro) with PulseAudio and once i screwed around with the configuration file for PulseAudio, the latency issue seems to be resolved, or at least nearly so. Here's what i did...

  1. Make a pulse folder in the .conf directory of my home directory ( ~/.config/pulse ) and copy /etc/pulse/deamon.conf to ~/.config/pulse/deamon.conf
  2. In the daemon.conf file, change default-sample-format = s16le (the 'le' could be 'be) to default-sample-format = s24le
  3. After saving the file, open a terminal and restart PulseAudio: pulseaudio -k

If you want to double check that the default-sample-format setting matches the spec for the Hel 2, or if you're tweaking your config for another sound card, open a terminal and run pacmd list-sinks and look for the sample spec: line for the card you want to configure. For the Hel 2 the spec is: s24le 2ch 44100Hz , thus why i used the s24le setting.

Here's the resources that helped me:

PROS:

  • Made in the U.S.
  • All metal, solid build quality with silky smooth volume controls and quality toggle switches
  • Flexible in terms of input/output capability
  • Can drive most any headphones thanks to the hi/lo gain switch
  • Microphone volume knob
  • Unlike the Fulla, the Hel has a mechanical switch to toggle between the USB and optical inputs
  • Power switch

NIGGLES:

  • Requires a separate (included) power supply - the data USB cable alone won't cut it, but this is the price of a rather powerful amp.
  • Microphone gain is weak, but OK, at least for me.
  • The microphone gain knob is positioned on the front of the unit which makes it a bit difficult to adjust. I think they should have stuck it on top near the output volume.
  • Price may be an issue for a dedicated gamer who is not an audiophile or doesn't need the feature-set of the Hel 2.

CONS:

  • Long standing quality control issues make buying Schiit's products a roll of the dice. In my case they shipped me a Fulla 4 which was DOA and a Hel 2 that started having problems shortly after i received it. Many others are complaining as well.

Here's the specs for the Schiit Hel 2...

Frequency Response: 20Hz-20Khz, +/-0.3db
Maximum Power, 16 Ohms: 1350mW RMS
Maximum Power, 32 ohms: 1200mW RMS
Maximum Power, 50 ohms: 800mW RMS
Maximum Power, 300 ohms: 200mW RMS
THD: <0.0008%, 20Hz-20KHz, at 1V RMS
IMD: <0.0008%, CCIR
SNR: >110db, A-weighted, referenced to 1V RMS
Crosstalk: >-80dB, 20Hz-20KHz
Output Impedance (headphones): 0.25 ohms
Output Impedance (line out): 75 ohms
Gain: Low and High, selectable via front panel. Low has maximum output of 1.3V RMS, high has maximum output of 8VRMS.
USB Receiver: C-Media CM6635
DAC: AKM AK4490 with TI OPA1656-based filter stage
Sample Rates and Bit Depths: 
USB Playback: 16/44.1 to 32/384 supported without drivers on Windows 10, Mac, Linux, Android (any UAC 2 device) with autoswitching to UAC1 for PS4, PS5, and Switch consoles.
USB Input: 48kHz
Optical Input: 16/44.1 to 24/192
Output Stage: TI OPA1656 (4 amp stages per channel) 
Power Supply: Via USB, with +/- 12V rails via high-current dual-polarity switching regulator, with inductor filtering and local regulation
Power Consumption: 2.5W typical
Size: 5 x 3.5 x 1.375” (including knob)
Weight: 13oz
APx Report for Hel 2